PEXCO as a
Digital Industry Role Model

Pexco was founded in July 2017 and has become an international player in the world of e-mobility within the still short history of the company. The brands Husqvarna Bicycles and R RAYMON are already making statements in the field of e-mobility. Due to the positive development of the company and its rapid growth, Pexco has been part of the Austrian Pierer Industrie AG since the beginning of 2020.

One project that has a global impact on Pexco’s processes is the Pexco Service App. The start of the complete digitalization of the service processes. Beginning with the production of e-bikes and bicycles and extending to close cooperation between the manufacturer and the specialist dealers, workflows were optimized using digital processes, and existing challenges – some of which still involve analog processes – were reduced.

Thanks to the digitalization of service processes, we have reduced the turnaround time of service requests by 32% and have fully automated frequent requests.

Technologies

Native App Development:
  • NativeScript
  • Angular
Back End Development:
  • ASP.NET Core
  • Azure

Team

  • UI / UX Designers
  • Front End Engineers
  • Back End Engineer
  • Test Engineers
  • DevOps Engineers

Project Phases

  • Ideation Workshop
  • User Experience Workshop
  • Agile App Development
  • QR Code and Bike Traceability Workshop
  • App Launch and Maintenance

Creating a Digital First
e-Bike Service User Experience

The service and maintenance of modern e-bikes bring new challenges: The installed batteries must fit the respective model and engine, defective batteries must be disposed of professionally, and some spare parts can only be ordered from the manufacturer via the specialist dealer. In addition, dealers used various channels to contact Pexco, including the service hotline, e-mail, and fax. The resulting media breaks made it difficult to track service requests and warranty cases, which led to delays and meant that enthusiastic e-bike riders had to wait longer until their pedelecs were ready for use again.

As a digital pioneer, Pexco saw this as an opportunity to make this process convenient and efficient both internally and for its dealers, while at the same time standardizing communication.

Identifying
Needs and Requirements

As a first step, we analyzed the service processes at Pexco and divided them into phases together with the project team. Requests were sorted by frequency and complexity to identify the potential for automation. Service cases that occur frequently and are of low complexity were mapped as self-service wherever possible.

For all other cases, a ticket system was introduced that allowed us to standardize service processes, better analyze throughput times, and simplify handovers between employees and departments.

On this basis, the new service processes were defined, discussed with selected dealers, and finalized in joint workshops. The following key figures were recorded and measured for continuous improvement:

  • Number of answered inquiries per service case type
  • Average lead time per service case type

The App
at a Glance

The Service App is only available to merchants who can register themselves in the App with their online store access. The most important feature of the app is the creation and management of service requests. These can be easily created from the app with just a few clicks. In case of damage or other mechanical problems, pictures and videos can be taken directly from the smartphone and attached to the service request. Requests from the Pexco service team and status changes are communicated directly to the user via push notification. Several employees per dealer can have access to the App and manage it independently. In addition, all users can access a range of general information about Husqvarna Bicycles and R RAYMON bicycles.

Bicycle and Service History
by QR Code

The analysis also revealed that the identification of the correct e-bike model and the installed components often cause problems in support cases. As a reaction to this, a master ID was introduced for each bicycle within the production process. This master ID allows all components belonging to the bicycle (frame, motor, and battery) to be clearly assigned to a bicycle and under which all modifications are historically versioned.

Users of the Service App only need to scan the master QR code or the serial number of an installed part and receive immediate information about the model, installed components, and history of the bike. For dealers, this means a significantly faster recording of service cases and a simplified ordering option for spare parts, and for Pexco, an improvement in the data quality of service requests.

Key
Technologies

NativeScript

NativeScript combines the advantages of native and hybrid app development. Within a single codebase, the app can be quickly developed for all mobile platforms based on modern web technologies such as Angular. This saves time, costs, and enables a front-end team to implement the mobile app and web application. With NativeScript the UI is rendered natively, the finished application appears high-performance and uses the UI elements that its users are used to from their operating system.

Measurable
Success

Pexco was the first bicycle manufacturer in Germany to succeed in providing dealers with a completely digital service process that can be handled intuitively and completely mobile. The use of the smartphone’s camera has simplified the documentation of inquiries, resulting in support requests that can be processed more quickly. Tracking requests in real-time has led to a reduction in requests to the service team. In addition, the elimination of media breaks and the introduction of a modern ticket system has reduced the average response time for requests by 32%. For Husqvarna Bicycles and R RAYMON customers, this means they can get back on their pedelecs and be electrically mobile faster.

Implementing

Self Service Processes

32% Reduction

on average turnout time

Increased

Customer Satisfaction

“All features of the Service App, which were implemented with high quality and created with tireless support from Rocketloop, make the lives of our resellers much easier. At the same time, we have created a platform for Pexco employees that standardizes processes across departments. This enables us to analyze and eliminate many hurdles that at first seem difficult to overcome much faster!”
Thomas Bauer
Director of Operations, Pexco GmbH
“Together with Rocketloop, we have created the Service App; an intuitive and comprehensive platform for our resellers that bundles all service matters in one place. This makes life much easier for our customers and increases the quality of the data for service processing, in some cases by 100%. A big thank you once again to the entire team at Rocketloop for their great commitment and support!”
Anna Lederer
Service Leitung, Pexco GmbH

Our Biggest
Takeaway

The digitalization of service and warranty processing not only enables a better brand experience for customers and partners but also represents a major savings potential. Since we brought all stakeholders – service personnel, customers, and dealers – to the table as early as the conception phase, it has enabled us to completely rethink service processes and create a modern solution that is faster, more economical, and more customer-friendly.

Share this Case Study on Social Media

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on email
Email
Share on telegram
Telegram

Let's talk about
Your Project!

Thank You!

We have received your message and someone will get back to you shortly!

Let's Start Building
Something Great Together!

Are you ready to get started on the development of your product? Wait no longer! Enter your email below and one of our team members will contact you soon!

This Website Uses Cookies

We use cookies to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. You can consent to the use of such technologies by closing this notice, by interacting with any link or button outside of this notice, or by continuing to browse otherwise. You can read more about our cookie consent policy here.

PEXCO als
digitales Branchenvorbild

Im Juli 2017 wurde die Pexco gegründet und ist innerhalb der noch kurzen Unternehmensgeschichte zu einem internationalen Player in der Welt der Mobilität geworden. Die Marken Husqvarna Bicycles sowie R RAYMON setzen bereits heute Statements in der E-Mobilität. Aufgrund der positiven Unternehmensentwicklung und des schnellen Wachstums ist die Pexco seit Anfang 2020 Teil der österreichischen Pierer Industrie AG.

Ein Projekt, welches globale Auswirkungen auf die Prozesse der Pexco hat, ist die Pexco Service App. Der Start einer vollumfänglichen Digitalisierung der Serviceabläufe. Beginnend bei der Produktion der e-Bikes und Fahrräder bis hin zur engen Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Hersteller und den Fachhändlern, wurden Abläufe durch digitale Prozesse optimiert und bestehende Herausforderungen – aus zum Teil noch analogen Abläufen – reduziert.

Dank Digitalisierung der Service Prozesse haben wir die Bearbeitungszeit von Serviceanfragen um 32% reduziert und häufige Anfragen teilweise vollständig automatisiert.

Technologien

Native App Development:
  • NativeScript
  • Angular
Back End Development:
  • ASP.NET Core
  • Azure

Team

  • UI / UX Designers
  • Front End Engineers
  • Back End Engineer
  • Test Engineers
  • DevOps Engineers

Projektphasen

  • Ideation Workshop
  • User Experience Workshop
  • Agile App Development
  • QR Code and Bike Traceability Workshop
  • App Launch and Maintenance

Ein digitaler B2B Serviceprozess
für Premium E-Bikes

Service und Wartung von modernen E-Bikes bringt neue Herausforderungen mit sich: Die verbauten Akkus müssen zum jeweiligen Modell und Motor passen, defekte Akkus müssen fachgerecht entsorgt werden und einige Ersatzteile können über den Fachhändler nur beim Hersteller bestellt werden. Darüber hinaus nutzten Händler für die Kontaktaufnahme mit Pexco unterschiedliche Medien, darunter die Service Hotline, E-Mails und Faxe. Die daraus entstehenden Medienbrüche machten die Nachverfolgung von Serviceanfragen und Garantiefällen schwierig, was zu Verzögerungen führte und so begeisterte E-Bike Fahrer länger warten mussten, bis ihre Pedelecs wieder einsatzfähig waren.

Pexco hat darin eine Chance gesehen, als digitaler Vorreiter diesen Prozess intern und für ihre Händler bequem und effizient zu gestalten und gleichzeitig die Kommunikation zu standardisieren.

Ideen Workshop
und Anforderungsanalyse

Im ersten Schritt haben wir die Serviceprozesse bei Pexco analysiert und zusammen mit dem Projektteam in Phasen unterteilt. Dabei wurden Anfragen nach Häufigkeit und Komplexität sortiert, um das Potential für Automatisierungen zu identifizieren. Servicefälle, die häufig aufkommen und nur eine geringe Komplexität haben, wurden nach Möglichkeit als Self-Service abgebildet.

Für alle anderen Fälle wurde ein Ticketsystem eingeführt, dass es uns erlaubte den Ablauf von Serviceprozessen zu standardisieren, Durchlaufzeiten besser zu analysieren und das Handover zwischen MitarbeiterInnen und Abteilungen zu vereinfachen.

Auf dieser Basis wurden die neuen Service Prozesse definiert, mit ausgewählten Händlern diskutiert und in gemeinsamen Workshops finalisiert. Für die kontinuierliche Verbesserung wurden folgende Kennzahlen festgehalten und gemessen:

  • Anzahl der beantworteten Anfragen je Servicefallart
  • Durchschnittliche Durchlaufzeit je Servicefallart

Die App
im Überblick

Die Service App steht nur Händlern zur Verfügung, die sich mit ihrem Onlineshop-Zugang selbstständig in der App registrieren können. Wichtigstes Feature der App ist die Erstellung und Verwaltung von Service Anfragen. Diese können bequem mit wenigen Klicks aus der App erstellt werden. Bei Beschädigungen oder anderen mechanischen Problemen können direkt vom Smartphone Bilder und Videos aufgenommen und der Serviceanfrage angehängt werden. Nachfragen vom Pexco Service Team und Statusveränderungen werden dem Nutzer direkt per Push-Notification mitgeteilt. Pro Händler können mehrere Mitarbeiter Zugang zur App erhalten und selbstständig verwaltet werden. Darüber hinaus können alle Nutzer auf eine Reihe allgemeiner Informationen zu den Fahrrädern der Marken Husqvarna Bicycles und R RAYMON zugreifen.

Fahrrad- und Service-Historie
per QR-Code

Bei der Analyse stellte sich weiterhin heraus, dass die Identifikation des korrekten E-Bike Modells und der verbauten Komponenten häufig in Supportfällen für Probleme sorgen. Als Reaktion wurde innerhalb des Produktionsprozesses eine Master-Id für jedes Fahrrad eingeführt, durch die alle zum Fahrrad gehörenden Bauteile (Rahmen, Motor, Akku, ..) einem Fahrrad eindeutig zugeordnet werden können und unter der alle Umbauten historisch versioniert werden können.

Nutzer der Service App müssen lediglich den Master QR Code oder die Seriennummer eines verbauten Teils scannen und erhalten sofortige Auskunft über das Modell, die verbauten Komponenten und die Historie des Fahrrads. Für Händler bedeutete das eine deutlich schnellere Aufnahme von Servicefällen sowie eine vereinfachte Bestellmöglichkeit von Ersatzteilen und für Pexco eine Verbesserung der Datenqualität von Serviceanfragen.

Die wichtigsten
Technologien

NativeScript

NativeScript vereint die Vorteile nativer und hybrider App-Entwicklung. Innerhalb einer Codebase kann die App für alle gängigen mobilen Plattform schnell auf Basis von modernen Web Technologien, wie Angular entwickelt werden. Das spart Zeit, Kosten und ermöglicht einem Frontend Team die mobile App und Web-Anwendung umzusetzen. Mit NativeScript wird das UI nativ gerendert, die fertige Anwendung wirkt so performant und nutzt die UI Elemente, die ihre Nutzer von ihrem Betriebssystem gewohnt sind.

Messbare
Erfolge

Pexco hat es als erster Fahrradhersteller in Deutschland geschafft, Händlern einen völlig digitalen Service-Prozess bereitzustellen, der intuitiv und komplett mobil abgewickelt werden kann. Die Nutzung der Kamera des Smartphones hat die Dokumentation von Anfragen vereinfacht und so zu Supportanfragen geführt, die schneller bearbeitet werden können. Die Verfolgung von Anfragen in Echtzeit hat zu einer Reduzierung von Nachfragen bei dem Service Team geführt. Der Wegfall von Medienbrüchen und die Einführung eines modernen Ticketsystems hat darüber hinaus die durchschnittliche Beantwortungszeit von Anfragen um 32% reduziert. Für die Kunden von Husqvarna Bicycles und R RAYMON bedeutet das, dass sie schneller wieder auf ihr Pedelec steigen und elektrisch mobil sein können.

Implementierung

von Selbstbedienungsprozessen

32% schnellere

Bearbeitung von Servicefällen

Erhöhte

Kundenzufriedenheit

“Alle Features der Service App, die mit hoher Qualität umgesetzt wurden und mit unermüdlichem Support von Rocketloop entstanden sind, machen das Leben unserer Fachhändler um ein Vielfaches einfacher. Parallel haben wir für die Mitarbeiter der Pexco eine Plattform geschaffen, die Abteilungsübergreifend die Prozesse standardisiert. Dadurch erreichen wir, dass viele Hürden, die zuerst schwer überwindbar erscheinen, wesentlich schneller analysiert und aus der Welt geschafft werden können!”
Thomas Bauer
Director of Operations, Pexco GmbH
“Mit der Service App haben wir gemeinsam mit Rocketloop eine intuitive und vollumfängliche Plattform für unsere Fachhändler geschaffen, die alle Themen an einem Ort bündelt. Damit erleichtern wir das Leben unserer Kunden extrem und schaffen eine zum Teil um 100% gesteigerte Qualität der Daten für die Service-Abwicklung. Ein herzliches Dankeschön nochmal an das gesamte Team von Rocketloop für den großartigen Einsatz und die Unterstützung!”
Anna Lederer
Service Leitung, Pexco GmbH

Was wir
gelernt haben

Die Digitalisierung von Service- und Garantieabwicklung ermöglichen nicht nur eine bessere Markenerfahrung für Kunden und Partner sondern stellen auch ein großes Einsparpotential dar. Da wir bereits in der Konzeptionsphase alle Stakeholder - Servicepersonal, Kunden und Händler - mit an den Tisch gebracht haben, wurde es uns möglich die Serviceprozesse komplett neu zu denken und eine moderne Lösung zu schaffen, die schneller, wirtschaftlicher und kundenfreundlicher ist.

Teile diese Case Study mit Deinem Netzwerk

Teilen am facebook
Facebook
Teilen am reddit
Reddit
Teilen am twitter
Twitter
Teilen am whatsapp
WhatsApp
Teilen am linkedin
LinkedIn
Teilen am email
Email
Teilen am telegram
Telegram

Lassen Sie uns über
Ihr Projekt sprechen!

Danke!

Wir haben Deine Nachricht erhalten und werden uns schnellstmöglich bei Dir melden!

Beginnen wir noch heute,
Ihre Erfolgsstory zu schreiben!

Sind Sie bereit, mit der Entwicklung Ihres Produkts zu starten? Warten Sie nicht länger! Geben Sie hier Ihre E-Mail-Adresse ein und wir setzen uns umgehend mit Ihnen in Verbindung!

This Website Uses Cookies

We use cookies to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. You can consent to the use of such technologies by closing this notice, by interacting with any link or button outside of this notice, or by continuing to browse otherwise. You can read more about our cookie consent policy here.